Home » Breakfast » Pancakes on my mind

Pancakes on my mind

It all started because I was thinking about how to use up sour cream. The inspiration to make pancakes hit me suddenly and intensely. I had seen an episode of “The Best Thing I Ever Ate” on the Food Network a long time ago that featured ricotta blueberry pancakes. Sour cream seemed like a reasonable substitution for the ricotta, but alas, the blueberries in the fridge had been gobbled up. So, after some intense recipe browsing, I came up with this: cinnamon sour cream pancakes with white chocolate and pecans. By the way, I’m definitely more of an eggs person than a pancakes person. And sour cream is actually great in scrambled eggs too. But whatever.

Buttermilk pancakes are served in tons of places, but sour cream is special because it is thicker and makes the pancakes slightly more tangy. And there are beaten egg whites in this recipe! They lead to super duper fluffiness.

Adapted from Whipped the blog: http://whippedtheblog.com/2009/02/01/fluffy-cinnamon-sour-cream-pancakes/. I ended up adding an extra pinch of cinnamon, some white chocolate chips, and pecans. Substituting cocoa powder in the batter for the white chocolate chips (perhaps 1/4 cup, and an extra tablespoon of sugar?) could lead to another variation. Cinnamon + cocoa powder = mexican hot chocolate pancakes? I think someone should definitely test that one out!

Cinnamon Sour Cream Pancakes

Makes 8 4-inch pancakes

2 large eggs, separated

1 cup sour cream

1 Tablespoon granulated sugar

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1 Tablespoon butter for cooking

1/2 cup mini or regular white chocolate chips

1/2 cup toasted pecans, coarsely chopped

Beat the egg whites in a bowl with an electric mixer until soft peaks form. Set aside. Whisk the egg yolks and sour cream together. Add the sugar and cinnamon and whisk until blended. Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl. Stir the flour mixture into the batter then gently fold in the egg whites.

Melt the butter in a skillet or on a griddle. In batches, spoon the batter into the skillet and spread slightly, making a 4 inch pancake. Cook until small bubbles form and the bottom is light brown. While it cooks, sprinkle with white chocolate chips and pecans. Flip and cook the second side until golden. Keep warm until all pancakes are cooked and serve immediately with butter and pure maple syrup (optional…a light dusting of powdered sugar was absolutely perfect for me).

5 thoughts on “Pancakes on my mind

  1. I have definitely thought to myself, “well, I guess I just have to make a cake because there’s buttermilk in the fridge.” So I can relate!
    Love the idea of mexican hot chocolate pancakes!

  2. Lindy all your food looks amazing! Next year when you come visit me (or I come visit you) we will have to make one of these (or a new) recipes! :) these pancakes look super yummy and those cookies…mmmm! can’t wait to try them!

Leave a Reply

